Never Read Your Reviews at Night!

2 Jul

Tip: Never read reviews of your work at night. If you’re like me, by evening I’m usually exhausted and unprepared for unkind words. One of the most unsettling reviews of my novel See Mommy Run began “Four reasons why I hate this book.” Another began “Why did I ever waste my time reading this?”, which led me to wonder why I’d ever wasted my time writing it.

Thank God I’ve received enough positive comments to keep me tapping on the keys.

Remember, a less than stellar review from a stranger is better than a rosy review from your mother. Learn from them and become a better writer.

Leave a Reply

